The lad in the tram

Author – Emil

A few days ago, while riding on a rather crowded tram I accidentally noticed a boy of about 15-16 years old. He was dressed in a navy blue jacket, grey jeans, navy blue Fila canvas sneakers and the top of short black socks were also visible. His right shoe was untied and the ends of his shoelaces were dragging along the floor of the wagon. He had headphones in his ears. I don’t think he realised he had an unlaced shoe. I didn’t pay much attention to him.

As the tram approached my stop, I noticed that this boy was heading for the adjacent pair of rail car doors.

The tram stopped and I got off, and so did that boy. The doors closed, the tram started and then I heard a rather loud shout.

That boy was standing on one leg, his right foot raised. And he wore only a black, very short sock on it. The shoe had disappeared. It wasn’t on the platform either. I realised that his unlaced sneaker must have fallen off his foot and stayed on the tram.

“Oh no! What am I going to do now?” I heard.

Then he noticed me looking at him and tried to hide his foot in a sock behind the calf of his left leg.
I suggested that he could take the next tram to the end of the route, it was only a few stops away, and there look for the lost shoe in the tram we both got off.

“I know,” he said, “But I have a history test. I might not make it in time.”

But when the tram arrived, he hesitated for a moment and got on the carriage nonetheless.

I’m curious, did he find his shoe or not after all?

Leave a comment