My Cousin Rick

Author – Montana

This happened back in the 7th grade my cousin moved in he was in the 8th and I thought this would be great like having a big brother and it was we got along great. The day before school started Mom took us clothes shopping for school new shirts jeans shorts and new shoes. Which was great I had outgrown my shoes Mom told us both to pick any shoes we wanted I picked a pair of Nike ACG Air Terra Antarktik GTX. Ricky my cousin got a pair of Jordan 1 High OG He had picked his first. My dad was so pissed over the cost but my mom said Ricky deserved something nice for once and she wasn’t leaving me out. I couldn’t wait for school the next day that night I tossed my old shoes they were so trashed and hurt my feet. I laid my new clothes out and went to bed. The next morning, I showered got dressed put on my socks my left high top reached for my right one and it was gone I looked everywhere are dog like to get stuff and chew on them. I asked Ricky if he knew where my shoe was, He said no and started looking for it. I asked my mom she started looking my dad said you better find it or learn to hop and he and Mom got into an argument over why she spent that much money on shoes again and how it was a bad idea. We kept looking even Ricky was helping talking about how much this sucked. My Dad came into my room and said we have to go, get in the car I’m not going to be late for work. We got in the car Ricky said we will find it after school. On the way I keep looking down at my Nike ACG Air Terra Antarktik GTX on my left foot and my white soak on my right foot begging Dad not to make me go to school. We pulled up in front of the school dad said go, we got out I walked in missing my shoe. Ricky keeps saying it will be fine just tell everyone your foot is hurt the teachers believed me don’t think anybody else did. The first part of the day sucked with all the comments and questions. We got home and I started looking everywhere dad got home and asked if I found my shoe. I said no he said wear one or find it. I had to go for six weeks not kidding it became just normal. Ricky’s mom and dad got their act together so he went back to live with them. I did not see him until the first week of March this year at a family reunion and it reminded me of what happened he was talking and He said you know I took your shoe and tossed in a clothes collection box because I wanted the best shoes. I picked mine then you picked better ones I shouldn’t have and I’m sorry.

6 thoughts on “My Cousin Rick

  1. After 6 weeks of only wearing a left shoe, did it feel weird to go back to wearing 2? What did you do with the single shoe after you got new shoes?

    Like

    • really it did feel weird and looked weird to me. I tossed it in the closet for it was the most expensive pair of shoes

      Like

Leave a comment