Office Mistake

Author – Shoeplayer

Some time ago a ‘little sockwalk’ took an unexpected turn, I never had thought could happen! I stayed very long at the office. When only my boss and another colleague where present, I sneaked to an empty bureau. We use it as a relaxation room. I was sure they wouldn’t come in, shortly before they went home. I left my shoes under a chair and sneaked back to the door. I heard them talking from a bureau. I quickly went to the end of the corridor and hid in the mens room. Ok, safe at first. Suddenly I heard footsteps and my boss asked through the closed door, if I were inside! I quickly answered and she said they would leave now. I should lock the door, when leaving. I answered ok and heard her going away. I waited until I couldn’t hear them anymore. They were gone and I left the restroom. It was a thrilling feeling to sneak around the empty office in stocking feet. I went to the door to the staircase and listened. Absolutely silent. I got into the staircase and sneaked two floors upstairs. Suddenly I heard voices! “Bye Mike! See you tomorrow!” Oh shit! They were still there! I heard them talking while waiting for the lift. “Why did you lock the door? Mike is still inside. He is in the restroom. He will not notice if anyone comes in. And he has a key”. WHAT??? I got panic! Before I could react, I heard them entering the elevator. OMG! I hurried down! Locked! The door was locked! Frantically I pushed and pulled! I was trapped! I was sweating! My face must have been deep red! Oh no! Not only my shoes were inside, but also my coat, cell phone and house key!!! It would be the humiliation of my life, but I had to get them, before they left the building! I hurried down in my socks and stopped at the front door! Gone! They were gone! Panic set in! Suddenly laughter behind me! I didn’t hear her coming! “Locked out???” she grinned. It was a girl, from another office, I sometimes met on the train. Oh nooo! I stammered something about …. “Just wanted to look at something!” “In your socks???” Still grinning! NO … yes … I didn’t know an answer! Suddenly she took her mobile out and asked if she could take a picture! “This is so funny”, she laughed! I screamed “NO” and hurried upstairs! Oh my god! I waited for a long time, before I realized there was no other way! I had to get home like this! My neighbour has a key to my apartment and I hoped she was home! I sneaked along parking cars, to get to the station. It was chilly and rainy and no one runs around like this! The station was crowded and I waited nearby. Finally I hurried to the station, getting a lot of funny comments! On the train I tried to hide my feet under the bench but it was useless! Finally I made it home. Luckily my neighbour was home and I just told her, I got locked out, while looking at my post-box. “I saw you coming home, from my kitchen window!” she laughed (caught …) The next day I was the first at the office. I waited at the staircase until my boss, who always is first, was coming. When she opened the door, I quickly followed her. I said hi, and hurried to get my shoes from the relaxation room. They were gone!!! My boss was in the tea kitchen and I scurried to my place. My coat …. gone as well!!! From the kitchen I heard my boss! “Mikey, the cleaners called me yesterday evening. They told me, someone had forgotten his coat …. and his shoes at the office! They took them to my bureau!” Grinning she looked around the door …. holding my shoes and coat! “Oh, and Michelle from the insurance office send me a picture of you … on your way home! I send it to your mail-account.”

Leave a comment