It can happen to anyone

Author – David in the UK

A couple of years ago I was in Paris on holiday and used the Metro to get around. In some of the stations I noticed that there were odd shoes on the track and, surprisingly, most of them wee men’s shoes of various kinds. I wondered how anyone managed to lose a shoe on the Metro.

The next year I had to visit a client in London and used the Underground. Going home in the rush hour crush I was getting on a train and the guy behind me hit my heel with a large, heavy, sports holdall and I felt my shoe come off. It fell onto the platform but before I could get off the train, against the crush, it was kicked over the edge of the platform. I was not pleased. I had to go to the supervisors office, with one shoe, and report it. Fortunately a staff member was able to get my shoe up with a hook on a pole and I was reunited with my loafer.

A week ago I wasn’t so lucky. I was in London again to meet an old friend for a drink, but at the last minute he wasn’t able to meet me in the centre so we decided that I would go to his place which was way out at Hanger Lane. The evening went too quickly and I realised that if I would get the late train home I would have to get an uderground train pretty quickly, I dashed to the station just as the train came in. Running down the stairs to the platform with another guy behind me I stumbled and we collided. I lost my left shoe but didn’t notice it until i got on the train. There was no time to go back so I just carried on.I felt OK until I had to change trains. Then I noticed that people were looking at my odd feet and I felt very embarrassed. The same thing at the main train station.

Reading the stories on your site it seems that some guys find it exciting losing shoes; I didn’t. I found it most humiliating and embarrassing; but it did prompt me to find this site, which I do find interesting!     

Leave a Reply

